When the flame dies

Hughes, Ed and Morris, R (2012) When the flame dies. [Composition]

Download (665kB) | Preview


When the flame dies Composer - Ed Hughes Librettist - Roger Morris Video - Will Reynolds & Poppy Burton-Morgan With the voices of Andrew McIntosh (baritone); Lucy Williams (mezzo); Peter Kirk (tenor); Emily Phillips (soprano); Ben Williamson (counter-tenor); also video artist Loren O'Dair. Ensemble - The New Music Players Advisers: Tim Hopkins and David Chandler (Professor of Photography, University of Plymouth). Duration: 70 minutes The unnamed Poet, protagonist of the drama, dreams of the Underworld where he meets the characters of his past and his imagination. He must choose between love and creativity. This new opera is being worked on during Autumn 2011 and Spring 2012 towards a full scoring for a cast of five singers and ensemble (The New Music Players) with live electronics. A public presentation is planned for 2013. The project will explore the use of specially created video, combining newly conceived material with archive stills and film footage, in order to devise new textures in the concert performance of opera, and to find fresh ways of contextualising works with historical and mythical resonances in performance.

Item Type: Composition
Schools and Departments: School of Media, Film and Music > Music
Subjects: M Music. Literature on music. Musical instruction and study
Depositing User: Ed Hughes
Date Deposited: 09 Nov 2012 13:42
Last Modified: 01 Oct 2013 09:23
URI: http://srodev.sussex.ac.uk/id/eprint/20394

View download statistics for this item

📧 Request an update